Sunday, March 29, 2015

Review: Endangered by Lamar Giles

Title: Endangered
Author: Lamar Giles
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery/Thriller
Source: HarperTeen via Edelweiss

Endangered is a thrilling page-turner perfect for fans of Barry Lyga's I Hunt Killers.

The one secret she cares about keeping—her identity—is about to be exposed. Unless Lauren "Panda" Daniels—an anonymous photoblogger who specializes in busting classmates and teachers in compromising positions—plays along with her blackmailer's little game of Dare or . . . Dare.

But when the game turns deadly, Panda doesn't know what to do. And she may need to step out of the shadows to save herself . . . and everyone else on the Admirer's hit list.
Review by Nara

If you're looking for a book with diversity: this is definitely one of them. It's the good kind of diversity as well- the kind where it's not thrown in your face. In particular, "Panda", our protagonist, is half black, half white (hence panda), and her best friend is an Asian. Also really commendable is that when things get really serious, Panda actually goes to her parents. TO HER PARENTS. Who instantly ground her, but still. This is something that never happens in YA! Yay for parents!

Predictability-wise, it was pretty good. To be honest, I guessed the culprit, but that's only because I suspected everyone. I almost feel like authors can't really win in this respect because it's either the least suspicious person, or the most suspicious person, and if it's the least suspicious, people rage about how it was left-field, and if it's the most suspicious, people rage about the predictability. Well in this case, I have to admit it was a little left-field, but also within the predictability range. I wonder if that gives you a hint as to who the culprit is haha.

I feel like the book took a turn for the unbelievable at times, and that's probably what had the harshest effect on my rating of the book. I suppose I should have taken the plot with a grain of salt in terms of how teenage mystery/thrillers tend to be a little unrealistic. Still, I feel like things were even more unbelievable than I would have expected.

Liked it
Overall: 7/10
Plot: 3/5
Writing: 4/5
Characters: 3.5/5
Cover: 2/5

This post is a part of Contemporary Conversations, hosted by The Thousand Lives and Talking Bookworm.